Skip to content

Hurt on the job? Ten things you need to know about Alabama workers compensation laws.

Hurt on the job? Ten things you need to know about Alabama workers compensation laws.


by Mark Wolfe – Attorney at Law

Boteler Richardson Wolfe – Injury Attorneys

1. You can not be terminated by your employer solely because you make a claim for worker’s compensation benefits.

2. You have a right to receive wage compensation benefits within 30 days after the benefits are determined to be due.

3. You have a right to have all undisputed medical bills paid by your employer, and/or its insurance carrier, within 25 days of submission.

4. Depending on the nature and extent of your injury, you have the right to vocational retraining or vocational rehabilitation if necessary.

5. You have a right to a second medical opinion at the employer’s expense. Upon request, the employer, or its worker’s compensation insurance carrier, must provide you with the names of four other doctors for you to choose from for your second medical opinion.

6. You have a right to have any settlement for wage or medical benefits approved by Court. In most instances, court approval is required.

7. You have a right to free assistance on your worker’s compensation claim from the Alabama Department of Industrial Relations via the Omsbudman Program: 1 800 528-5166.

8. You have the right to prosecute your worker’s compensation claim in Court.

9. You have a right to hire your own attorney to assist you in the presentation and/or prosecution of your claim based upon a limited contingency fee. The contingency fees in worker’s compensation claims is limited to 15% plus expenses and is only paid if wage benefits are recovered.

10. You have a right to bring a liability claim or case against a third party responsible for causing your on the job injury. Third party meaning someone other than your employer and/or a co- worker who may have caused your work related injury.

Download our free guide to Alabama workers compensation claims 

If you would like a free consultation with Mark (or any of our attorneys) about your workers compensation claim, please email him at or send a text to 251 533-9548 (cell). You can also call Mark directly at 251 410-7761.

REQUIRED DISCLAIMERS: Alabama Rule of Professional Conduct 7.2: No representation is made that the quality of legal service to be performed is greater than the services provided by other lawyers. The Mississippi Supreme Court advises that a decision on legal services is important and should not be based solely on advertisements. Free background information is available upon request to a Mississippi attorney. The listing of any area of practice by a Mississippi attorney does not indicate any certification of expertise therein. See Mississippi Rules of Professional Conduct Rule 7.2(d), Rule 7.4(a), Rule 7.6(a) (1997). Statement in compliance with Florida Bar Advertising Rules: “The hiring of a lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely upon advertisements. Before you decide, ask us to send you free written information about our qualifications and experience. [Florida Rule 4-7.2(d)]. General Disclaimer: This information is posted for general information purposes to help those interested parties or persons with potential civil claims better understand their rights and potential causes of action. If readers are currently represented by an attorney on the subject matter of this post then they are encouraged to continue with said representation. No attorney-client relationship is established by this post.